Final scripted turn, @GeeBizzle
muster from the elders.
I spend 1 Supply and put one favor on Elders. In return, I gain two warbands, taking them from my bank and adding them to the three warbands on my board.
Once a card has favor or secrets on it, you can’t put favor or secrets on it to do anything else. So Yellow cannot muster from the Elders again this turn, and cannot put favor on Elders to use its Action power.
reveal a small favor.
I ﬂip my facedown adviser up and play it to my advisers. This card’s power lets me gain four warbands, taking them from my bank and adding them to my board.
You’ll notice that A Small Favor has a chain on its restriction in the top-left corner under its suit. This card cannot be discarded, moved, swapped with other cards, or otherwise messed with. This is absolute and cannot be overridden.
campaign against the chancellor.
This costs me 2 Supply. I choose the Chancellor as defender since they rule my site. I declare the Mountain and Rocky Coast as my targets.
Your defender is who you want to attack, and either their pawn or warbands must be at your site. Your targets are what you want to take, such as their sites or relics. You must declare at least one target at your site.
My targets give the Chancellor two defense dice, and the Chancellor gets a third defense die for being the Oathkeeper. I have nine warbands on my board, so I collect nine attack dice, but I lose one because I’m declaring the Mountain as a target—its power reduces attack dice by one.
How do I know to add dice? The shield in a target’s top-right corner shows the number of dice it adds.
I don’t rule any battle plans. The Chancellor rules the Longbows, removing one of my attack dice.
If I were at the Plains, could I use the Longbows? Nope! You need to rule battle plans to use them. This is shown by the crown outline around its action icon.
The Chancellor rolls their three defense dice and gets a total of four shields.
Their total defense is eight—four shields plus their four warbands at the targeted sites.
I roll my seven attack dice and get two swords, three hollow swords, and two skull and double swords. The skulls mean I kill two of my own warbands immediately. Two of the hollow swords add up to one sword, but the remaining hollow sword counts for nothing.
My total attack is seven.
You can choose to roll fewer attack dice than the number of warbands on your board.
I need nine attack to beat the Chancellor’s eight defense, so I sacrifice two warbands. I’m victorious, so I kill half of the warbands in the Chancellor’s force. The targeted sites—the Mountain and the Rocky Coast—have four warbands, so two are killed and go back to the Chancellor’s bank next to their board, and the other two return to their board.
If Yellow didn’t sacrifice enough warbands to win, they would have lost half of their force—three warbands.
I put one warband on the Mountain and two on the Rocky Coast. I now rule the most sites, so I take the Oathkeeper title from the Chancellor.
What else can I declare as targets? Anything with a blue shield in its top-right corner—their sites, relics, and banners, as well as their pawn and favor, as shown by the “Banish” box on their board.
If you’re victorious and you targeted their pawn and favor, you can put their pawn on any site, and you burn half the favor on their board, rounded down, returning it to the shared bank. To target their relics or their pawn and favor, their pawn must be at the same site as yours.
search the deck.
I spend 3 Supply, draw three cards, and find Tents. I play Tents to my site
and gain one favor from the Nomad bank. I discard the other two cards to the Cradle discard pile.
(search result sent to GeeBizzle)
use tents to travel.
I put one favor on Tents to use it. I travel to the middle Hinterland site, reveal the Wastes, and place one relic next to it facedown. This costs no
Supply because I used Tents and traveled to another site in my region.
You can use a card power if your pawn is at its site or if you rule it. Yellow rules the Rocky Coast—they have warbands on it—so they can use Tents on later turns even if their pawn is not at the Rocky Coast.
It may seem odd that the Hinterland cards go back up to the Cradle, but that is how it works!
I didn’t spend my final Supply this turn, so I refresh my Supply to the leftmost space instead of the “9+” space. I return the favor on Elders and Tents to the Nomad bank.
it’s now the end of the round. advance the round marker one space.
Why is Yellow doing this? Yellow started with A Small Favor, which lets them gain tons of
warbands, so they see an opportunity to compete for the Oathkeeper goal—and succeed! By taking
the Oathkeeper title, their defenses get stronger, making the other players less likely to attack them.
Likewise, the Mountain is difficult to campaign against, further discouraging others from attacking.
Since they’ve built up a small kingdom, Yellow feels pretty safe in playing Tents to one of the sites they rule, keeping their advisers open for cards later, which is important since A Small Favor is now stuck in their advisers. Over time, Yellow will need to consolidate their power by getting battle plans that make them even better at campaigning and defending against enemy campaigns.
This ends the scripted play!