What are you typing on (a mechanical keyboard thread)?

Hello everyone,

I’ve been after a mechanical keyboard for a while and one of these fancy split-in-the-middle ones is the way I’ll be going. Before I take the plunge I figured I’d see what people here used (there must be a little crossover between this community and keyboard fans, right).

So to that end, what are you typing on? Does it have colourful LEDs, sounds and/or funky keycaps? Do you too think this contraption is a thing of beauty?

3 Likes

LED-lit mechanical keys, can take simultaneous input from all of them, I think. So yes, some care taken in my keyboard choice, but not crazy expensive or otherwise unusual. Japanese keys, of course.

I’m a self-taught bad typist, and I tend to cross over some key presses that “should” be on one hand with the other, so those fancy split keyboards would require retraining muscle memory, and it doesn’t seem worth the hassle.

3 Likes

I’ve got one of the Razer keyboards (razer huntsman elite the software informs me) and the Tartarus game pad because I still know where all my abilities for my WoW character are… I never figured out a use for this beyond WoW though.

This is my second mechanical Razer keyboard–I gave the previous one to our friends’ son for his first gaming PC and got myself the latest generation a while back, and as far as I know he’s still happy with it. They last long and I can take it apart to clean it (I really should).

The typing is great but loud when I am in a jitsi conference I need to either cut down the typing or use push-to-talk. The gaming “pad” is also mechanical but less loud, so I think they have two types of mechanical keys. Nevertheless, I love my keyboard.