Is it still worth getting into Imperial Assault?

Hey guys I’m new to this community but I wanted to ask everyone something.
I just recently got the core box of Star Wars Imperial Assault for my birthday and I love it. However in a lot of forums and threads and such about the game availability seems to be an issue. I’m a bit of a completionist and I would love to collect the whole range eventually but it seems like it might be going out of print soon.
So I thought I’d ask you guys should I bother trying to collect all the expansions now? Should I maybe just wait for a second edition or a reprint or something? What do you think? Also any tips or things a new player should know would be welcome!

6 Likes

I’m not an expert but I wanted to say welcome! Hopefully there’s a knowledgeable person just about to see this thread and reply!

It may help if you let us know where in the world you reside as Asmodee/FFG distribution can be wildly different depending on where you are.

On a tangent, I’ll say I recently picked up a collection of an out-of-print game+add-ons cheaper on BGG than if I had bought all the different SKUs individually … it was still a good chunk of money but if you’re definitely going “all in” it’s something to keep an eye out for.

I’m in Canada, and oh as in from someone through BGG? I’ll have to check that out

1 Like

Hi! Welcome to the forums!

Let me start with the basic “full disclosure”:

1. I work at a game store. As a result I have a lot of games that aren’t necessarily the most “affordable” due to employee pricing.
  2. I am an enormous Fantasy Flight Games fan, going back decades. I don’t like everything they do, but if I am a fanboi and that does tint my perspective.
  3. I am a huge, huge, huge Star Wars fan. Space wizards and laser swords, man, can’t beat 'em.

Okay, with all that aside:
Yes, Imperial Assault is incredible.

And we’re done here! Have a nice day, try the lamb…