Games you've never heard of (or how much time do you spend looking at BGG rankings)

In the finest tradition of nicking threads from BGG, how far do you have to go down the BGG rankings before you find a game that you’ve never heard of? What is it?

I got as far as #111: Legendary Encounters: An Alien Deck Building Game

I was a bit surprised I didn’t get any further, given how much time I spend listening to gaming podcasts/browsing BGG/on this forum…

Less surprisingly, I only got to #8 on RPGG’s equivalent list before encountering a system I’d never heard of (Star Wars: Edge of the Empire)

5 Likes

Wow, #89 Barrage for me.

I’m amazed that I didn’t even get out of the top 100, like you I consume a lot of board game related ‘stuff’. Though I presume that I probably did listen to a podcast with it mentioned, but that I was a bit tuned out at the time or something. Anyway, it completely passed me by. Now I’m curious as to whether it’s any good.

I’m still very new to RPGs but as seem as you mentioned it I thought I’d give it a go… I got as far as #3 Masks of Nyarlathotep… So not a great showing from me there :laughing:

4 Likes

Tricky to be truthful on this one because I’ve been on BGG a lot recently due to trading. Aprt from having read them on the site I’ve never seen, played or heard anyone talking about Mechs & Minions (#40). Definitely Trajan (#93) has never crossed my radar, despite owning Dominion (#94).

4 Likes

Took until #142 - Paths of Glory for me. But I could well have heard of it. All wargame names sound the same.

Tangentially, I was surprised at some entries in the top 100. I wouldn’t have expected Marvel Champions in there.

4 Likes

I don’t pay a lot of attention to the Hotness rankings because I’ve noticed, doing the contests, that they always want you to click on the game’s BGG page, which obviously gives it a spike.