Emergency Rations

So, about 5 years ago we bought a house (the one we live in now… and when I say “we”, I really mean my partner, who paid for and is paying for the lion’s share of the house since I am a writer and the money I make is actually a negative number… great for tax breaks, bad for paying for things).

However, according the the Canadian Government, we are supposed to have an Emergency Preparedness kit… and we do! Lots of water, lots of useful tools and low-tech devices that can do neat stuff like “keep us alive” and “keep our pets alive” and fun things like that… but it also suggests about 2 weeks(ish) of emergency food supplies.

So about a month after we bought the house (see above note), I went shopping. “Mountain Equipment Co-op” was a local chain that sells lots of yummy(ish) food for hikers, campers, and climbers… and so I bought about $300 worth of food that should last two healthy adults about three weeks.

All of it had a 5-year expiration date. Fast forward to… five years from then… and I find myself needing to replace a lot of emergency food supplies.

Now, nothing is stopping me from doing the same thing again, but I figured there are smarter people on this website (hello all of you!), and I didn’t really think about it before, I just impulse-bought several weeks worth of food.

So, does anyone have any advice? Suggestions? Tips? There are a lot of Prepper websites selling staggeringly expensive “luxury meals for two survivors!” that I’m skeptical of… but surely there is something better than just freeze-dried Mexican Rice?

Or maybe not? Anyway, just thought I’d ask. Thanks!

2 Likes

I’d always buy a couple of jars of peanut butter and honey. Long expiration and highly calorific.

(Easy to carry too when the zombies arrive.)

4 Likes