Bug: I like posts and then the site forgets, clicking again goes boom

Maybe this is a localized Firefox issue or it is an issue with the forum software but I am wondering if it is only me. What happens is this:

• me likes post
  • forum shows me I did
  • … ( time passes, invaders come and go, the site stays open, I do nothing ) …
  • forum forgets I liked post and shows me the empty heart again
  • I cannot bear to see it and click again and get an error message how I cannot see the resource or something.
  • I reload and the heart is red again

(I am just a dev not a tester so I am bad at describing issues)

Am I the only one this happens to?

3 Likes

I’m seeing this occasionally on the other Discourse forum I run - a user clicks “like” and gets a popup along the lines of “you are not permitted to view the requested resource”.

I think it may be something to do with slightly shonky IPv6 connectivity to the host but I’m not at all sure.

There’s a similar error message reported here but that had a specific cause (custom group settings) which isn’t relevant in this case.

Thanks for the report - I’ll keep an eye on it and see what more what I can find out. More information from anyone is welcome, particularly if you can pin down something else that’s associated with this happening.

2 Likes

For what it is worth it happens on all my devices but I use firefox on all of these. However on the mobile devices I do not have all the extensions that might be a cause. I could try Brave for a change… maybe it is some firefox-blocking issue.

It definitely happens on some kind of “auto-refresh” cycle.

1 Like

I saw it happening yesterday using safari on my iPhone. My initial thought was my session had expired and I had been logged out.

I’ve noticed this for approximately a week or so. I use Chrome. Refreshing the page (or re-browsing to that thread) will then show the full-heart correctly in (almost?) all cases.

1 Like