What are the 4 Best Reiner Knizia Games?

What are the 4 best Reiner Knizia games that best demonstrate his style of design? What ones would you tell a friend to play if they had never played a Reiner Knizia game and could only play a few? What are his 4 best designs new and old?

Hey everyone I’m new(er) to boardgames and I’m trying to round out my knowledge base by playing some of the greats. I’m doing that by playing games from big name designers so yeah the question above. Also I’m limiting it to 4 for now just to keep things realistic. I know some of you could recommend 10+ games but I don’t really want to play only Knizia games for the next year.
Thanks so much!

6 Likes

Games by Rank

But bear in mind that Tigris & Euphrates is a very different style of game than, say, Ra or Through the Desert or Battle Line.

3 Likes

I am not a Knizia expert by any means but you should check out games from different genres of his like 1 tile layer f.e. Tigris and Euphrates (or go for one that is a bit more accessible), 1 Auction game like Ra, one of his family games like Ingenious or Keltis and My City because it is one of his latest designs and probably his only campaign game so far (I haven’t played My City but heard good things about it) now I’ll refer you to @lalunaverde who probably knows all the Knizia there is.

Edit: and I forgot El Dorado if you like deck builders…

3 Likes

Modern Art is like nothing else I own. It’s fantastic

3 Likes

With over 500 games designed by the good doctor (Knizia has a doctorate in mathematics, as memory serves), it’s hard to say “best”.

To be quite frank, the vast majority of them are utterly forgettable. There are a few gems in the rough, but with such a wide selection, it may be hard to narrow it down.

That stated, ones that I think are his best work are:

1. Tigris & Euphrates (a weird little area-control wargame with an unusual scoring mechanic… very cutthroat, though)