GM Displacement Activity

Okay, over the bank hol weekend I was supposed to be writing up another Squaddies scenario - drawing the maps of bits of a (spin gravity) space station, making notes on where the enemy have put their defences, etc.

But what I mostly did was calculate how much food the population of the station would need (Answer: 268 tonnes per day), then calculate what the daily yield the agricultural/aquaponics decks need to produce to feed 'em (Answer 8.64 kg per square metre, assuming no ‘layering’ of crops or stacked production methods). Then I worked out how it would take for the oxygen to drop to ‘impair thinking’ (14%) levels if the entire station population took it into their heads to cram into one deck and turn off the air vents (Answer: 38 hours). Then I started drawing a map for a deck that the PCs are never likely to encounter in the scenario!

What sort of RPG displacement activities do you do when you are supposed to be doing game prep?

3 Likes

I think my worst example of this was in a WWII game where it was likely that the PCs would be crossing the USA by train (early in 1942). A sensible GM would have stopped after finding out that it was the Twentieth Century Limited, still steam-hauled, and getting rough travel times and frequencies. I ended up digging up a full timetable with every single stop in both directions, including where the trains passed each other. I just got interested…

3 Likes

I don’t do much like that: I tend to read other things, hang around on forums, and so on. Thanks for the reminder to work on my Stabcon scenario - see you there?

1 Like

Hoo boy!

One time I wrote a 66,000-word cross-referenced alphabetical encyclopaedia.

I spent months coding the star system generation sequences of GURPS Space (4th ed.) as an Excel workbook with no macros.