Triplanetary… play by forum


#889

Edit: Never mind, misunderstood when the CT encounter happened.


#890

@EyeZee to play.


#891

z1: Thrust E
z2: mine
z4: Stop at Ceres. Refuel. Purchase transport z7 The Problem With Inertia at Ceres.
z5 & z6 Thrust F. Attack t3 together. Should be at distance 1, velocity difference 4 for -3 penalty.


#892

@EyeZee, after buying those two packets you have one money left. z4 can afford two fuel points, but definitely not a new transport. Please confirm.


#893

If I counted right, z4 should have 8 ore aboard to sell. I forgot to say to sell that ore. Also from the first sale I should have 4.8 Cr left (turn 791), and from the last sale at Luna I should have 1.2, unless we’re rounding down.


#894

Aha, that payload seems to have got lost somewhere along the way. (This should, of course, be impossible.) So that’s another 16 money.

Other than that:
turn 33: z2 sold 14.9 at Ceres for 29.8, bought packet z4 for 20 and 9 fuel for 4.5, leaving 5.3 (which I recorded as 4.8)
turn 45: z1 sold 15.4 at Luna for 46.2, bought packets z5/z6 for 40 and 10 fuel for 5, leaving +1.2 in this transaction.
So that’s 6.5 money left before z4’s current sale, 22.5 total.

6 fuel for z4 is 3, leaving 19. New transport is 10, leaving 9.5.

I am assuming you’re rejecting lunar gravity in all cases.

Agreed on the combat calculations. I’ve previously found that the bot doesn’t implement die roll modifiers, so:

@discobot roll 1d6


#895

:game_die: 3


#896

No effect.

Aha, actually, you missed something - there’s a compulsory D vector for the second lunar gravity hex, which takes the velocity difference down to 3, meaning only a -2 modifier. So t3 is disabled 2.

I failed to roll for r1 entering asteroids at speed last turn:

@discobot roll 1d6


#897

:game_die: 6


#898

d1 becomes un-disabled (after movement).
turn 48 begins

@MrTim: t3 cannot manoeuvre since it’s disabled, but it can still (and must now) make a choice about whether to accept the first gravity vector. I’ve plotted both possible outgoing vectors.


#899

Hmm. Might as well accept and hope no one can match vectors in time. I’m guessing you’re going to rule that I can’t sell from a disabled ship?


#900

'Fraid so (and it’s not in a stable orbit anyway).

@EyeZee to play.


#901

z1 Thrust C, and use C-direction gravity hex.
z2 mine
z4 Thrust B
z5 & 6 Use D-direction gravity hex to get back into orbit. Attack d3 together at (I think) -5. Since I don’t use fuel, assuming that means I’m in orbit, Refuel z5 &6 (should be 1 Cr to top-off both).
z7 thrust E


#902

z5 and z6 have already used the D direction hex on their previous turn (they would have been going straight up the map otherwise). If they don’t thrust now, they’ll be drifting off F-wards out of orbit.


#903

Good point. I always forget that it’s the last turn’s gravity hex that affects you. I’ll be letting gravity affect t3 again next turn.


#904

Ah. In that case they thrust D (and can’t refuel).


#905

MrTim: t3 isn’t going to enter another gravity hex. On the first turn of interaction it entered the C-ward one (and you rejected it as part of the orbital entry procedure); then it was disabled, and entered the B-ward one (where you had a choice) and the A-ward one (which applied without the option), so it picked up B+A to add to its existing vector.

(Had it also been able to thrust F last turn, it would have entered orbit.)


#906

Gah! I don’t know why orbital mechanics make my brain go squishy in this game!

Hang on! I still have over 10 MCr left, correct? If so, then next turn I’ll buy a Transport and launch it from Luna C, ignoring gravity to put it in the same hex as but with a different vector than t3.


#907

I show 3.5 money but I’m willing to accept I may be wrong. I’ll dig in to the history.


#908

I keep forgetting the velocity modifier for combat is for velocity difference greater than 2. I believe my attack is at -3 instead of -5.