Gauging Interest in Play-By-Forum for Heavier Games

There are a few games that I am eager to give a go. With social distancing not going away any time soon, I’d be interested in trying many options but these are certainly the top 3 on my list.

• 1862: Railway Mania in the Eastern Counties (a.k.a. 18EA) (scales from 2-8)
  • 18CZ: The Railway Comes to the Czech Lands (scales from 2-6)
  • Roads & Boats (scales from 2-6)

0 voters

I’ve not looked into the exact workflow or software I would use to manage any of these games.

1 Like

I have no experience with any of these, but it’s no less worrying than my dream of one day running a ParanoiaBF

1 Like

I also have never played these irl, but if love to give it a shot

2 Likes

It appears there is quite a bit of interest! That’s exciting news!

Call for Players & Poll

I’ll leave the poll open for at least 24 hours to get a comprehensive idea of how much interest there is. It looks as though we have at least one game’s worth of players but we may end up with 2 or 3 games’ worth- at that point, we can discuss if those games should run in parallel or sequentially.

If you are lurking over there (yes, there, behind the water cooler), afraid to show your interest because the poll already looks full, don’t fret! We’ll find a way to get everybody interested involved in a game!

1862 and/or 18CZ

I’ve looked a bit into how other communities are running play-by-post 18xx games and board18.org appears to be a common method for representing a game for play-by-post that does not enforce (or even understand) the rules of the game; merely a virtual gameboard that understands tokens, tiles, and spatial-orientation thereof.