Cold & Dark - a WTF moment in their 'science'

I’m reading my way thru the Cold & Dark RPG (Modiphius/Wicked World Games). The setting is interesting, it has nice call outs to sources as diverse as Aliens and Firefly, and its horror vibe is more ‘achieve plot things and get PTSD’ than my usual experience of Cthulhu - i.e. fail to achieve anything of note and go unplayably mad.

However… the science.

It started out well. They stated that upfront and outright they were going for Style over Science. That’s fine by me. I’m a scientist by training, but I’m quite happy with games such as Maschine Zeit, which operate on movie logic, not on realistic astrophysics or engineering. After all, Maschine Zeit is a setting with ghosts and zombies in it!

But Cold & Dark has a chapter which is chock full of ‘science’ and engineering’ - for instance how ships’ reactors work. It is packed with details. And the details seem to have 2 things in common:

1. They are scientific bollocks. Like the intense heat from a plasma cutter which is stated to never ignite anything, ever, because the heat has been separated from the combustion.
  2. The details seem to have no game function whatsoever.

I don’t get this. I can see the logic of having a scientific explanation for your tech. I can see the logic of having minimalist techno-bollocks instead of real science ; for example, saying “The engines run off dilithium crystals - they are rare and expensive and need re-tuned once a month or the engines will stall”.