Ask a teacher. (Ish)

With the return of home schooling and @GeeBizzle’s comments it’s time to resurrect another thread.

Hi. I’m Ross and I’m a teacher.*

Shout if you need assistance or help pointing to good, free resources.

*Mostly primary, currently in the middle of a career change.

9 Likes

Wow, timely thread thanks! Any tips on teaching division would be welcome. She’s 7yo p3. Learning times tables through memory seems to be the schools approach to multiplication but division was just starting to be introduced.

Currently having my daughter divide objects into groups of equal numbers but not sure if there is an approach that is more constructive.

2 Likes

Three main ways to look at division. (I’m using a number in the three times table as an example.

Sharing - You divide by three by making three circles and dropping one object into each until you run out. 18 = 3 groups each with six in.

Grouping - You divide your objects into groups of 3 (3,3,3,3,3,3 = 18 = 6 groups of three)

Inverse - You know 3x6 = 18 , so 18 divided by 3 =6

Let me link you a document that shows examples and progression. Also, you want to be doing this with concrete objects wherever possible.

3 Likes

Have a look at this, it’s a scheme of work, looking at progressions. Not a lot of questions, but examples of the type of thing you’re trying to teach, questions you might ask and some tricky mastery style questions to see if they have understood. Take everything at a pace they are comfortable with.

2 Likes

Amazing. Thank you sooo much!

2 Likes

I’m a secondary school teacher. Entirely sixth form these days, but have taught History (year 7-13), RS (year 7-11), geography (7-9) and a wee bit of Maths up to year 9. Currently Politics and Sociology for A-level.

If I can offer any help, either general secondary school stuff or subject specific I am also happy to help.

3 Likes

I forgot to say.

Multiplication.

Get a cotton bud, a tiny bit of paint and a piece of paper.